Choking functionality

Post Reply
stufflin
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Aug 31, 2016 10:08 am

Choking functionality

Post by stufflin » Wed Aug 31, 2016 9:31 pm

I dont know if its too much to ask, but how does the chokingfunction work?
Is it an "empty/silent" sample that gets triggered and stops the previously played samplewhen its inside the same "chokegroup"?
Or is there more to it?

Im just curious whats possible.

Richard
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by Richard » Sat Sep 03, 2016 12:25 am

When you trigger a choke all cymbals that are playing fade out immediately. There's nothing more to it than that. This was released as an experimental feature and we have not yet committed to it so there is currently no MIDI signal sent that corresponds to the choke event.

huibkouwenhoven
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:52 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by huibkouwenhoven » Fri Mar 24, 2017 10:54 am

Hi!

I noticed that the choking of cymbals is not exported in the recording WAV. Could this be because of the experimental nature of the feature? And if so, is your intention to develop it further, and include it in the recordeed wave-files as well?

Thanks!

Richard
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by Richard » Thu Mar 30, 2017 9:19 pm

Exactly, we still haven't committed to the feature as it stands so you're correct that choke events aren't saved in Aerodrums recordings. I'm sorry about this - we will try to decide what to do with this soon.

If others reading this have an opinion on this feature please let us know here.

Kainejoyes
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:44 pm

Re: Choking functionality

Post by Kainejoyes » Wed Jan 17, 2018 5:51 pm

Richard/Yann
Choke feature is fantastic works just like grabbing the cymbal, absolute perfect. Onlookers always freak out at gigs when the see it.. defiantly a feature to keep!!

eriklharper
Posts: 14
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 12:31 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by eriklharper » Thu Jul 19, 2018 12:38 am

Could someone post a link to a doc page explaining how to use the choke feature?

Wolfgang
Posts: 104
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2015 11:36 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by Wolfgang » Thu Jul 19, 2018 9:27 am


Richard
Posts: 787
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Choking functionality

Post by Richard » Fri Jul 20, 2018 11:47 am

You can access the choke settings screen by going here:
Menu -> Drum Kits -> Adjust Drums -> Hihats & Cymbals -> Cymbal Choking

There are two sliders on that screen that you can adjust with your drumsticks. Each slider controls the position of a "zone" highlighted in red. While playing drums, if a drumstick enters one of these zones it will cause all cymbals to choke, i.e. fade out quickly.

Post Reply