Aerodrums 3D not detecting Quest 2

Post Reply
dominic78
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 9:08 pm

Aerodrums 3D not detecting Quest 2

Post by dominic78 » Fri Oct 15, 2021 2:37 am

Issue: "Waiting for connection to Aerodrums" on laptop 3d software (see screenshot)

I just installed clean on new ASUS TUF laptop running Windows 10 with latest updates of OS and Aerodrum software and 3D app. Also attempted on my previous laptop running Windows 10 and Windows 11 later on. I had to factory reset my Quest 2 for a different issue I had with my BT keyboard and still having same issue. Running 5GHZ xfinity home router both on same network. Laptop connected to network via LAN cable but also tried over Wifi. Quest 2 on same Wifi. What is most strange is that I actually got it to work one time when I initially installed everything the very first try. Once I closed the app I never got it to work again....

More info:
laptop
Device name LAPTOP-U9C9J9TB
Processor 11th Gen Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-11370H @ 3.30GHz 3.30 GHz
Installed RAM 8.00 GB (7.68 GB usable)
Device ID 74CC1857-054C-4533-B032-4951C9B2AD74
Product ID 00325-97245-66458-AAOEM
System type 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
Pen and touch No pen or touch input is available for this display


VR device: Quest 2 256GB with latest updates (120hz enabled if that matters)

I can connect quest to laptop via airlink and wired connection and play rift games with no issues

Edit:
I forgot to mention I have firewall turned off. I can also connect headset to SteamVR. Also, the original Aerodrum application works perfect along with the 3D (non-vr 3d option).
Attachments
Screenshot (16).png
Screenshot (16).png (423.91 KiB) Viewed 118 times

Richard
Posts: 869
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Aerodrums 3D not detecting Quest 2

Post by Richard » Fri Oct 15, 2021 3:48 pm

Hi, to drum in 3D you need to run Aerodrums on your Mac or Windows computer (the same way you do without 3D) and then run Aerodrums 3D on another device (computer, tablet, phone or VR headset).

I see from your screenshot that you are running the Windows version of Aerodrums 3D. This application will not connect to your Quest 2, it will connect to Aerodrums.

If you want to drum in VR on your Quest 2 you should run Aerodrums on your Windows computer as normal and then launch the Aerodrums 3D app on your Quest 2. They should then connect over WiFi and communicate with each other.

If there is still an issue please check Windows Firewall settings to make sure that traffic sent from Aerodrums is allowed through the firewall.

dominic78
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 19, 2021 9:08 pm

Re: Aerodrums 3D not detecting Quest 2

Post by dominic78 » Sat Oct 16, 2021 1:45 pm

Issue resolved.

Thank you for your response. That was my misunderstanding. I appreciate the response.

Post Reply