Hi hat help

Hi hat help

Postby vanhalen » Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:56 am

Hi all, having great fun with aero drums but can anyone help please.
The kit works fine through laptop but when I run it through Logic Pro x I cannot seem to get the hi hat to make a closed sound.? I've tried both in midi and just running rock drummer through the DAW. I've opened up the keyboard and played note D0 but no sound. Can someone point me in the right direction please. Many thanks Rich
vanhalen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:46 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby Richard » Wed Mar 23, 2016 3:26 pm

Aerodrums uses a MIDI continuous controller (CC4) to output the hi-hat openness. Most software handles this fine but we have seen a couple of instances where the software isn't configured to respond to this. It sounds like you're having the same problem.

A while back we introduced a hidden workaround for another user who was also experiencing this:
viewtopic.php?cache=1&f=10&t=504

If you want to try this fix you will need to edit the "aerodrums.cfg" file using a text editor. The file is located inside the Aerodrums.app so to access it you'll need to Cmd + click on it, select show package contents and then go to the Contents\Resources directory.

Open "aerodrums.cfg" in TextEdit and look for the line "[Session]".
On the line following this, copy and paste this line:
Midi_Use_MDrummer_Hack = yes

This should make it possible to hit a closed hi-hat. This will only allow the hi-hat to be either open or closed. I don't know if the Logic drummer you're using supports a smooth transition between open and closed hi-hats but if it does, unfortunately you won't get that behaviour with this workaround.
Richard
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby vanhalen » Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:11 pm

Hi Richard thanks for the reply. I don't know if you're the guy who invented this but it's fantastic!
I trawled through the net and think I've found another solution by going into extended parameters on LPX DKD and theres an option for changing the midi mapping to v drums and this seems to be working, but will look at your answer as well.
Thank you again esp for the speedy response.
Rich
vanhalen
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 8:46 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby Richard » Thu Mar 24, 2016 1:28 pm

Thanks, glad I could help. If your solution is working for you then I would stick to that. Like I said, the fix I proposed will limit you to either fully open or fully closed hi-hats so not ideal.
Richard
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby condordontsurf » Thu May 24, 2018 12:27 am

will editing the file, change the behavior of aerodrums in other programs or the main aerodrums software?
condordontsurf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:59 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby Richard » Thu May 24, 2018 10:33 am

This is an old thread...if you're referring to 'Midi_Use_MDrummer_Hack', that option has since been added to the Aerodrums MIDI screen as 'Hihats - open or closed only'. And yes, it will affect the hihat MIDI information that Aerodrums outputs (but won't make any difference when Aerodrums is not in MIDI mode). If your drum sampler software supports continuous hihat openness (e.g. as controlled by CC4) then you should keep this option unchecked.
Richard
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby condordontsurf » Fri May 25, 2018 8:07 am

Thanks for responding Richard. I am a Aerodrums addict the last couple of months. It has brought great joy to my life and for that I thank you. I am using the most recent version of the software. I notice it displays some weird behavior when using the eletronic kits in Garageband and Logic X. Was having an issue getting the hi hat to play ball. I was thinking it has to do something with not being able to select the V drum setting like you can in regular drum designer.
condordontsurf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:59 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby Richard » Fri May 25, 2018 12:31 pm

Thanks, it's great to hear that!

Regarding your issue, I don't have much experience with Logic but from reading this thread it sounds like the problem might be that Logic is expecting the hihat openness to come from CC1 instead of CC4 and the V-Drums setting (that's not available) corrects this:
https://www.logicprohelp.com/forum/view ... hp?t=99109

To check this, I would suggest going to the MIDI maps screen within Aerodrums. Select the Logic map and click the Clone button. Then click Edit. Now select 'Hi-hat' from the list on the left and on the 'CC:' line select 'Other' and enter a value of 1. Then click Save and see if that helps.

If it doesn't make a difference then it's probably a case that Logic is expecting different MIDI notes for the electronic kits than the ones that Aerodrums is sending. Could you explain precisely what behaviour you're observing on the hi-hat in Logic. Do you hear any sounds when you hit it? Do you only hear sounds when it is either open or closed? How does it behave when you enable the 'Open or closed only' option on the Aerodrums MIDI screen?
Richard
 
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby condordontsurf » Sat May 26, 2018 6:26 am

I should have been more specific. The high hat on electronic kits remains open in logic. When I tap my foot (continuously) I get a closed sound. When I am not tapping, it is open high hat sound. Doesn't matter if my foot is up or down. I will try some of the stuff you suggested
condordontsurf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:59 am

Re: Hi hat help

Postby condordontsurf » Sat May 26, 2018 7:09 am

Giving up for the moment. Have tried a bunch of different options as far as what you described. Didn't seem to make much of a difference. The maddening thing is the acoustic kits work like a dream in logic. When you bring up the drum machine designer it tells you all the midi note values, so I will try to check those against what aero drums is listing.
I have tried a few of the programs that you guys have maps for, trying to find something that will play some diverse electronic kits. Some of the programs are just not cost effective, when it comes to buying the sound packs. That is why I was trying to get Logic X to work. It has a diverse group of kits to choose from on the electronic side. The drum machine designer also allows you to drag and drop samples which I was hoping to at some point utilize the library of battery drums i bought a long time ago.
condordontsurf
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Apr 27, 2018 5:59 am

Next

Return to General

cron