Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby glgay » Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:27 pm

Hi. I just got my Aerodrums last week - terrific product!

I'd like to create a pedal-controlled tambourine using the existing samples. The documentation says that you need to provide a broken-out samples directory which Aerodrums will then turn into a ".ele" file. Is it possible to create a pedal-controlled version of existing elements?
glgay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:14 pm

Re: Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby Richard » Sun Apr 03, 2016 10:01 pm

Hi, unfortunately it's not possible to edit the elements that ship with Aerodrums in any way. For a pedal triggered tambourine I'm not sure how much velocity sensitivity would matter. Perhaps you can get away with finding a single tambourine sample online and creating a new element from that.
Richard
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby glgay » Mon Apr 04, 2016 5:46 pm

I was thinking along the lines of the FAT Kat pedal that appears to no longer be available. I never actually had one so I don't know how it dealt with sensitivity. Neil Peart used them, which is the effect I was going for.
glgay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:14 pm

Re: Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby Richard » Mon Apr 04, 2016 10:05 pm

It should be easy to set up once you have some samples. I'm curious how Neil Peart uses the FAT Kat pedal - do you know of any videos online that show this?
Richard
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby glgay » Tue Apr 05, 2016 11:17 pm

You can see several examples in this solo from Frankfurt:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LWRMOJQDiLU

At about the 0:30 mark, he uses the pedal for a tambourine on 2 & 4.

At about 3:12, he plays a triplet pattern the same way.
glgay
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:14 pm

Re: Custom Pedal with Existing Elements

Postby Richard » Wed Apr 06, 2016 12:21 am

Thanks, I'd say you can get this same effect by using a single tambourine sample.
Richard
 
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am


Return to Support

cron