How do I position the drums and pedals

How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Smasha » Tue May 20, 2014 2:11 am

I'm quite tall and finding the foot pedals hard to set up.

How do I move these pieces on the screen?
Smasha
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue May 20, 2014 8:08 am

In the home screen you have to go in "Drum kits", then "Clone" the kit you use, select the clone and click Ok. (This is because the preset kits can't be modified).

Now, while you are drumming with this cloned kit, hit the Menu button (you'll have to wait until it activates by placing your stick over it), then hit "Adjust drums" then "Place one drum".
In the screen that appears, hit the pedal you want to move so it highlights, then hit again, this time at the new location where you want it. To avoid selecting or moving pieces you don't want to move, you may have to be careful to not move your sticks or other foot.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Smasha » Tue May 20, 2014 12:32 pm

I hold the stick over "menu" of the cloned kit and nothing happens.
The menu circles around then nothing after that.
Smasha
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Smasha » Tue May 20, 2014 12:38 pm

There is a latency as well.
When I play a fast roll the notes don't play.

Another thing Exclusive WASAPI doesn't work.
I use an Emu 1212m sound card.

OK I didn't read the context menu properly.

Changed to 44.1 k now I get WASAPI woohoo.
Now to change the position of the drums.
Smasha
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue May 20, 2014 1:00 pm

Smasha wrote:I hold the stick over "menu" of the cloned kit and nothing happens.
The menu circles around then nothing after that.


Ok, once the button has circled it is active and you can hit it like you would hit a drum, this will bring up the menu.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue May 20, 2014 1:03 pm

Smasha wrote:There is a latency as well.
When I play a fast roll the notes don't play.


Is your performance indicator green (top left)? If not can you try the low performance modes (maintain the Ctrl key down then press "g").
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Smasha » Tue May 20, 2014 1:05 pm

Really struggling getting the drums to move where I want them.
I play heel up on the kick and hats but they just don't respond normally also.
Is there a way in the future to use a mouse and position them ?

I have to really stretch my foot too far forward to get a sound out of the kick and hats.
I have the reflectors on my shins as said in the manual.

P>S. I played fast triplets on the 2nd and 3rd beat with my foot and not getting the sound out of it.

I have a green square in the top left corner.

I don't think it understands my bass drum technique lol.
I hold my foot about an inch from the ground and pivot my foot.
Not getting any sound using this technique.
I tried the range setting but didn't do much plus I can't seem to click done with my stick without the stick moving the range bar.
Last edited by Smasha on Tue May 20, 2014 1:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Smasha
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue May 20, 2014 1:19 pm

About the pedals, could you try with the foot markers instead of the shin markers? The shin markers are more suited to a heel tapping style, of course that's not something experienced drummers do on their kit.
We're working a video specifically about the pedals, hoping to release it next week.

Others have told us the drum moving screen is frustrating at the moment because it is too easy to select or place drums by mistake. We have a few ideas to improve it. However we can't use a mouse interface because the size of the ball as seen by the camera matters. It lets you place drums on different depth layers.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Smasha » Tue May 20, 2014 1:44 pm

That is better.
Kick doesn't sound natural enough though.
I can't get those nuances out of it like a natural kick drum.
can't play a fast double stroke on the snare either.
I can play a fast double stroke on my practice pad 32nd notes at 120 bpm for a minute but I can't hear anything on this lol.
Need to totally change my technique.
Sigh.
I will leave this for now otherwise I will drive myself crazy.
I just can't get it to play like you seem to have it setup in your videos.
I can play.
Played in metal bands and session work and covers for 20 years.
Now practice the Tommy Igoe routine everyday along with rudiments and other stuff an hour a day.
I don't know what I'm doing wrong.
I do need an extension for my Beyer dt 990 pro headphones as the chord is being stretched while I play and impeding on the hats.

I would really love smaller area for each drum,cymbal ,like in real life and the ability to use a mouse and drag the pieces around.
Also mouse use of other parameters.



Sipaliwini wrote:About the pedals, could you try with the foot markers instead of the shin markers? The shin markers are more suited to a heel tapping style, of course that's not something experienced drummers do on their kit.
We're working a video specifically about the pedals, hoping to release it next week.

Others have told us the drum moving screen is frustrating at the moment because it is too easy to select or place drums by mistake. We have a few ideas to improve it. However we can't use a mouse interface because the size of the ball as seen by the camera matters. It lets you place drums on different depth layers.
Smasha
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 11:08 am

Re: How do I position the drums and pedals

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue May 20, 2014 2:06 pm

Smasha wrote:Kick doesn't sound natural enough though.
I can't get those nuances out of it like a natural kick drum.


One way of getting nuance back without adapting to the lack of pedal would be to mod you existing pedal for motion tracking. Naigewron posted about this in this thread: http://aerodrums.com/forums/viewtopic.php?cache=1&f=2&t=53 and we will illustrate a mod of a non-practice kick pedal in our next video.

Smasha wrote:I can play a fast double stroke on my practice pad 32nd notes at 120 bpm for a minute but I can't hear anything on this lol.
Need to totally change my technique.


Yes fast air-drumming requires adjustment if your technique is far from what Richard describes in the "Rebound rebuttal" video http://aerodrums.com/2014/01/aerodrums-air-drumming-and-rebound/.
One good thing is that learning the technique most appropriate to air-drumming won't affect your drum technique in a bad way. We'd completely understand though if you think it's not worth the effort.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Next

Return to Support

cron