getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post Reply
chrispo1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:59 pm

getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by chrispo1972 » Fri Feb 28, 2020 11:47 pm

hi there, i have a dell 5379 laptop and it keeps saying aerodrums cannot initialise the sound card, ive updated the sound card drivers, installed asio4all but i still cannot get the sound card to work correctly. any help at all please

Richard
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by Richard » Sat Feb 29, 2020 12:39 am

Can you give the exact text of the sound card initialisation error? Do any of the audio devices choices (on the Latency screen) work or do they all result in the error?

If you're trying to use the Exclusive WASAPI device choice, did you make sure it is enabled and set to 44100Hz from within Windows sound settings?

I take it that audio is working fine outside of Aerodrums and that you're not running a DAW or other software that might be taking exclusive control over the sound card?

On my personal Dell laptop and I found that switching from the Realtek drivers to the Windows 10 generic audio drivers ("High Definition Audio Device") greatly improved audio latency within Aerodrums when using Exclusive WASAPI. I believe the problem was related to some power saving feature of the sound card. It might be worth trying this...

chrispo1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by chrispo1972 » Thu Mar 05, 2020 11:17 pm

Here are some snips of the settings and messages on my laptop.
So ive got it working with the ASIO4ALLv2 but i cannot set the WASAPI so that i can play along to youtube videos, which i would expect to be able to do on this spec of laptop. I cannot seem to be able to set the audio quality to lower than 48000hz, the only choices being between 16 and 24bit
Attachments
Capture.PNG
Capture.PNG (10.34 KiB) Viewed 3975 times
sound card.PNG
sound card.PNG (230.65 KiB) Viewed 3975 times
audio warning.PNG
audio warning.PNG (143.84 KiB) Viewed 3975 times

Richard
Posts: 768
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by Richard » Fri Mar 06, 2020 12:48 pm

The reason why Aerodrums doesn't present you with the WASAPI options is because Aerodrums only supports 44100 Hz. Normally you can change this in the panel from your screenshot - I'm not sure why it's not letting you. We had developed a patch to add support for 48000 Hz but it hasn't been released yet.

I assume that you can't select the Shared WASAPI option in Aerodrums either?

chrispo1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by chrispo1972 » Fri Mar 06, 2020 9:11 pm

Yeah ive just checked, i defo cannot set lower than 48000hz.

chrispo1972
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2018 3:59 pm

Re: getting aerodrums to work on my laptop

Post by chrispo1972 » Fri Mar 06, 2020 10:41 pm

just remembered a feature i was gonna ask for, is it possible to move the menu button in the drum kit view, as i keep hitting it whilst playing. it really needs to be away from the playing area of the drum kit view

Post Reply