No sound with custom samples

No sound with custom samples

Postby Ivan » Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:51 pm

Hi,
I am a happy Aerodrums user for few months now and it's incredible fun!I've been using lots of .wav samples purchased online and never had problems.Now I'm trying to set up a new kit with samples I got today,however,once I add all the custom created elements (as I did previously without trouble) and start playing, there is no sound.I can play all the samples individually in Windows Media Player and they play just fine.Also I wanna mention the .ele file that Aerodrums creates is always 1KB of size.All other .ele files from previously set up drums are at least 20MB(again,with custom samples). I can't figure out how to fix this so I thought maybe you guys could help. The samples I have troubles with are from the "Mapex Heavy Kit" by Drumdrops ,24bit 44.1 wav files.
Ivan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:29 pm

Re: No sound with custom samples

Postby Sipaliwini » Sun Oct 05, 2014 7:22 pm

Hello Ivan, could you email one of the wav files to the support email address?
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: No sound with custom samples

Postby Sipaliwini » Tue Oct 07, 2014 3:47 pm

The wav file's header doesn't give a compression scheme, a number of channels, or a bit depth (it's all set to 0). I don't know how Windows Media Player or Audacity can read it, they either use default values or try different interpretations of the file. It is not a high priority for us to enable loading badly formatted wav file, but here is what you can do until we do:

-download Audacity from this page: http://audacity.sourceforge.net/download/
-load all your wav files as separate tracks (you can select them all in Windows explorer then drag and drop them on the Audacity window
-make sure that in the Edit->Preferences->Quality tab, the Default Sample Rate is set to 44100hz
-go to File -> Export Multiple ...
-select Wav as the export format
-choose the directory you want the files to be exported to (Export location)
-click the Export button

Audacity will write each file in the chosen directory with the correct headers.
Now you can point Aerodrums to that directory to make your new drum kit element and it will work.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 392
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: No sound with custom samples

Postby Ivan » Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:10 pm

Many thanks for the help! I'll do as you said and I'm sure it will work. I will also write an email to the website I got the samples from - I'm just curious whether it is done on purpose or is it something else.After all it is stated in the manual that the samples can be loaded in basically anything that reads wav.
Thanks again!
Ivan
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2014 5:29 pm


Return to Support

cron