Version 1.0.21 does not work

Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby JRC » Tue Sep 13, 2016 8:25 am

Hello,

I have 4 different machines. Two fairly high-end, and two more modest ones (listed below). On two of these, which I use at home (below), Aerodrums 1.021 does not work, for two different reasons. On the third, and most recent monster, I still have Aerodrums 1.019, which I use for rehearsals and plan to gig with in two weeks time. No plans of updating to 1.021 on that one until problem solved:

1) An older Dell Inspiron 1525, W7, dual-core 2.17 GHz, 4 GB RAM, 7200 HD:
- This machine has had no previous installation of AD. Everything Aerodrums-related gets installed. When trying to open the program I only get the frame (main window and top bar stating Aerodrums 1.021), and nothing else. The GUI does not show, in other words. May well be an Open GL 2-thing, but still. Reinstalling did not solve the issue.

2) A newer Acer laptop running W8.1, a four-core Pentium 2.66, 8 GB RAM, SSD drive:
- This machine has previously run the/a former AD version without issues. (1.019?). Here it cannot get past the "Finishing installing the camera driver". Computer hangs every time. I know there has been some issues with the PS3 camera for some, so AD was then first uninstalled, everything related to camera driver uninstalled, cleaned registry and leftover keys with different tools (IObit uninstaller, Jetclean etc.). Still hangs at the very same spot. When opening the Aerodrums folder that still shows on the hard drive when restarting the computer after "installation", I try to run the camera installer file from AD folder ("aerodrums-camera-installer.exe" as admin), which opes the command prompt, but still hangs when trying to install camera.

Also note that both these machines have no issues at all running instances of the Adobe Suite (CS6), SONAR X3, Sony Vegas, Trados 2015, Toontrack Solo, Addictive Drums 2 etc., but not Aerodrums 1.021.

Please let us know when a functional update is available, since I am still a fan and would prefer gigging with these rather than having a 1h+ setup of a full kit.
JRC
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby Richard » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:28 pm

Hi JRC, thank you sharing your experiences. Regarding your two issues:

(1) That Dell is a very old model (2008?) with integrated Intel graphics so yes, it's very likely to be an OpenGL 2.0 compatibility issue. I recommend trying to upgrade the graphics drivers. Many users have had issues that have been solved by doing this. We will be removing the dependence on OpenGL in a future release but that won't be available until next year.

(2) I haven't heard of an issue like this before. I will need to check with my colleagues to see if they know what could cause it. Are you sure that you had the camera unplugged from the USB port when you ran aerodrums-camera-installer.exe? If not, you should try it again with the camera unplugged.
Richard
 
Posts: 598
Joined: Wed Feb 26, 2014 1:45 am

Re: Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby JRC » Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:57 pm

Richard wrote:Hi JRC, thank you sharing your experiences. Regarding your two issues:

(1) That Dell is a very old model (2008?) with integrated Intel graphics so yes, it's very likely to be an OpenGL 2.0 compatibility issue. I recommend trying to upgrade the graphics drivers. Many users have had issues that have been solved by doing this. We will be removing the dependence on OpenGL in a future release but that won't be available until next year.

(2) I haven't heard of an issue like this before. I will need to check with my colleagues to see if they know what could cause it. Are you sure that you had the camera unplugged from the USB port when you ran aerodrums-camera-installer.exe? If not, you should try it again with the camera unplugged.



Hello Yann,

Many thanks for your input. In order:

1) Yes, 2008-2009, so OpenGL is likely the case.
2) Camera has been unplugged all the time. I have uninstalled and reinstalled AD at least threee times and everything installs flawlessly up until the point where the camera driver is to be installed, then everything hangs.
JRC
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby Sipaliwini » Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:44 am

Hello,

could you try installing the legacy camera driver available at the link below and let me know if it solves the issue?

http://aerodrums.com/camera-driver-legacy-installer/

(please read the note in the green box)

If it doesn't work, I will be in touch via PM to arrange a remote assistance session if that is Ok.

About 1), in my experience the hardware of most latptops from 2008 supports OpenGL 2.0, but the drivers published for versions of Windows released later sometimes drop support.
If this is what is happening, it is possible to install older drivers. A lot of Minecraft players have had to do that over the years. If you decide to try it but don't get success, I can also help.
(please note that you may get it to work, but find the performance lacking).
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby JRC » Thu Sep 15, 2016 10:13 pm

Hello Yann,

Thanks for input. Using the legacy driver made no difference. Since then I decided to reinstall OS, and also change it to W10, which apparently seems to be working. I have no idea why that is however.
Right now I have AD running as normal on the #2-computer.

Regarding the old Dell (#1), I did install an older driver which resulted in some progress. Instead of having a completely transparent window when opening AD, I now got a white window. Not working there still though, but that's not really important. Main thing was that it should work on the fairly modest computer I previously used for AD at home, which it now seems to be doing. The beast in our rehearsal space handles AD just fine.
JRC
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:05 am

Re: Version 1.0.21 does not work

Postby Sipaliwini » Mon Sep 19, 2016 10:10 am

I am sorry that not all of your computers can run Aerodrums. The legacy driver installer was capricious sometimes, that is why we had retired it, except for Windows Vista users. This could explain why things are working fine now that you use Windows 10.
Let us know if you need further help.
Sipaliwini
 
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu Jan 16, 2014 12:40 pm


Return to Support

cron