customizable midi out per drum element

sambosun

customizable midi out per drum element

Post by sambosun » Sun May 25, 2014 8:22 pm

Hi I'm new to the Aerodrums family. I got myself this awesome piece of kit to drum in my sample library stuff when scoring for picture.
I've setup a 19 piece Tom kit to trigger i.E. Heavyocity Damage or DM307 samples. But the drum elements have a fixed midi out.
I would like to see a customisable midi out option to set every drum element to its own midi out.

Richard

Re: customizable midi out per drum element

Post by Richard » Mon May 26, 2014 12:41 am

Welcome aboard, I guess we didn't anticipate Aerodrums users to be creating 19 piece MIDI kits but you're absolutely right that Aerodrums should allow you to assign MIDI notes for each element in your kit (and it should also allow you to create MIDI only elements instead of having to specify .wav files to create a custom element). Sorry this feature isn't there now but we will add it at some point. Thanks for the feedback.

sambosun

Post by sambosun » Mon May 26, 2014 1:43 am

Thanks Richard,

Aerodrums really is the first expressive drum kit that helps me get down the perfect beat.
No more pad controllers for me.

Also it would be outstanding if you could ad a note-off option for the midi side. So when recording midi notes the DAW doesn't write held notes.

Thanks again for such a great product.

sambosun

Post by sambosun » Tue May 27, 2014 12:54 pm

To correct my first post above. It would be outstanding to be able to assign custom midi notes and channels to drum kit elements. If possible it speeds up the workflow if the setup of drum elements could be done with the mouse and the midi note assignment via midi learn or drum stick or mouse and/or keyboard.

I think one easy way here would be this:
- select a drum element with either the sticks or a mouse
- klick or hit a midi learn button
- hit the note on a keyboard controller
- done

Richard