Page 1 of 1

Are these specs good enough?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:41 am
by aerodrum1066
I wonder whether Aerodrums will perform on a pc with these specs? The processor is lower than the recommended I'm hoping the extra GHz might compensate.

Windows 7 32-bit
Intel Pentium 4 (2.53 GHz)
Integrated Graphics Card
1.5MB RAM

I have a feeling that it won't be good enough but would appreciate confirmation either way.

Re: Are these specs good enough?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 1:06 am
by eagleeyez
Hi,

Well, you are not going to get far with 1.5 Megabytes of RAM. You probably mean Gigabytes?
And the specs are very low, It would surprise me if that works, as just look at how quick the camera has to calculate loads of very high speed moves. Something has to calculate it and react.

But who knows? Aerodrums have written an algorithm that can do this so quickly and is just amazing anyway. Maybe it is that good, that it would even work on your PC.
I would more lean towards a PC upgrade and welcome you to the 21st Century.

Re: Are these specs good enough?

PostPosted: Thu Feb 04, 2016 3:01 am
by Richard
While it's possible it would work fine, we have never tested Aerodrums on a computer with specs that low. I wouldn't risk it unless you're also considering upgrading to a new computer soon.

Re: Are these specs good enough?

PostPosted: Fri Feb 05, 2016 9:06 pm
by eagleeyez
Well, I have a PC here with those kinds of specs and as I have just got my Aerodrums today I will test it over the weekend on the old PC and let you know what happens. But first as soon as I get the room to myself I will first start getting it running on my main PC.

I will be using an Intel i7, 2700K @ 3.5Ghz but overclocked to 4, Nvida GTX 970, 32GB Ram, Win7 64Bit and Samsung 512GB SSD. The Software I installed on the SSD to get quicker response.

I also have the Dell 15R notebook, which you can see in Yann’s tutorial videos. Do not buy this notebook unless you like listening to a fan that sounds like standing next to a jump jet. It gets pretty dam hot to as it’s an i7 notebook, one of the older ones.

Re: Are these specs good enough?

PostPosted: Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:52 am
by JRC
TS:

You are actually referring to an old Pentium 4 - not a Pentium quad core? The difference would be 10 years.

I have 4-5 computers or so . I have one Pentium Quadcore N3540 in one rehearsal space triggering Superior Drummer via e-kit with low latencies without issues.
Benchmarking that quad-core with an old Core 2 Duo of 2.1 GHZ the new Pentium Quad wins hands down, so hopefully this should not be a problem, albeit the camera should also be in the mix.
Graphics I could do without however.

http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Pentium-N ... tium-4-640
http://cpuboss.com/cpus/Intel-Pentium-N ... -Duo-T8100