Page 1 of 1

Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 9:11 pm
by dreamreal
New Aerodrums owner - trying to hook Aerodrums up to BFD3, in particular to record in Cubase.

Do I need something like loopbe/copperlan/whatever? If Aerodrums is outputting MIDI, can Cubase listen directly for those events, or do I need a virtual midi cable? (If I do, that's fine, but ... I've tried to set one up and I can't actually get anything - including MIDI-OX - to actually route the MIDI data to Cubase such that Cubase recognizes the MIDI input data.)

I'm probably missing something really simple, but I see a lot of "you need to do something like..." without any actual concrete success stories that demonstrate how to do it properly.

Re: Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 12:00 am
by Richard
I believe you will need a virtual MIDI cable. LoopBe1 should do fine. You can grab it from here: http://www.nerds.de/en/download.html.

The setup steps are described in the manual and there is also a tutorial video near the top of this page: http://aerodrums.com/using-aerodrums-wi ... -samplers/

Re: Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Sat Jul 16, 2016 6:41 pm
by dreamreal
Well, I can follow that - my DAW (as well as BFD3) show LoopBe as the input, but it looks like the graphics speed isn't good enough on my computer; I can't get it over 50 fps and when I turn off Aerodrums' graphics modes (cycling through with ^G), it STILL doesn't generate MIDI events for either BFD3 or Cubase. Still working through options.

Re: Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Tue Jul 19, 2016 7:33 pm
by dreamreal
I am still unable to get AD to output MIDI to my DAW or BFD3 :(

Re: Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2016 7:34 am
by Richard
This is quite strange, we haven't come across an issue like this before. If you have Aerodrums set to use the Exclusive WASAPI or ASIO audio device then it's possible that Cubase/BFD can't get access to the sound card. Could you make sure you can hear audio from them while Aerodrums is running. If you can't then you should be able to fix this by running Cubase/BFD before running Aerodrums. Let us know if that helps.

Re: Windows 10 DAW success stories?

PostPosted: Sun Jul 31, 2016 8:10 pm
by dreamreal
Okay, I've finally had the chance to revisit this (after some time, obviously!) and you're right: I was able to get it hooked into BFD3 by starting BFD3 first, setting it to LoopBe, then starting Aerodrums. So that's a win, even though I don't have the key mapping set up yet - that's a negligible step at this point.

Excellent, and thank you - I'm sorry it's taken me so long to try it again.