Page 1 of 1

Ride Stave Line Not Accepting Note Input

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2015 5:11 pm
by mark brogden
I'm unable to enter notes on the top stave line that's assigned to the ride cymbal by default. I'm running Mac OS 10.9.5.

Any help appreciated. Thanks

Re: Ride Stave Line Not Accepting Note Input

PostPosted: Mon Jun 08, 2015 7:59 pm
by Richard
Hi, the topmost line you can enter notes on with the default setup should have hi-hat and crash. The next line down will have high tom, ride and ride bell. To change which drum/cymbal is used you need to repeatedly click over the note. This will cycle through the possibilities, e.g. high tom -> ride -> ride bell -> high tom etc. You can also cycle using the mouse wheel (or the corresponding gesture on your Mac trackpad).

If this is not the issue you're having it, can you tell me if the problem only happens on the top line and if note entry is otherwise working fine for you? Thanks.

Re: Ride Stave Line Not Accepting Note Input

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 9:47 am
by mark brogden
Thanks Richard. Apologies - I misread the notation key! I've now moved the ride and ride bell so they're on the fifth (top) line which is the convention I'm used to (also it then allows the top tom to be placed at the same time as the ride of course).

Great software - just what I was looking for (have tried Sibelius but Aered is much easier and I can enter things in so quickly - which I'm finding not just much more efficient but it helps with creativity as well)

Will dynamics and other markings such as signs / codas be added in the future (I've looked through the manual but didn't notice anything)?

thanks again

Re: Ride Stave Line Not Accepting Note Input

PostPosted: Thu Jun 11, 2015 3:09 pm
by Richard
Thanks Mark, we're glad you like it. Regarding dynamics, you can only ghost or accent notes currently. Crescendo/decrescendo indicators will be added at some point, as will coda marks.